'Medicine Show'
by Todd Tobias

Please Choose (Prices in USD):


The CD comes as a limited numbered edition of 200 in a beautiful Stuart Medley designed 4 panel gatefold with insert. All CD orders come with an immediate download of the album.

After years of producing Guided By Voices, playing in Circus Devils with Robert Pollard, and helping to create the music for Pollard’s solo albums, Todd Tobias is striking out on his own with his debut solo album. Defiantly unique and vividly realised, Medicine Show is a multi-faceted instrumental opus, evoking a shadowy steampunk dystopia. By turns nightmarish and hauntingly beautiful, the three-dimensional musical universe that Tobias conjures across 40 minutes is totally addictive.

From the dark GBV-esque groove of ‘Night of the Club Foot’, through the gaseous synths of ‘Pre-Dawn Visitation’, evoking a hallucinogen-fuelled walk among a misty moon-lit forest, to the visceral lurch of single ‘Manatoc Enters The City / The Long Fall’, Medicine Show plays out like the soundtrack to a Terry Gilliam movie starring Tom Waits, each song a totally immersive scene, leading inexorably into the next.

Track Listing:
  1. Night of the Clubfoot   Preview
  2. Manatoc is Born   Preview
  3. Half Animal    Preview
  4. Pre-Dawn Visitation   Preview
  5. The Children Follow   Preview
  6. Clubfoot’s Return   Preview
  7. Shadows with Teeth   Preview
  8. Flesh Interval   Preview
  9. Asmodaeus and the Unlucky Traveler   Preview
  10. The Pathfinder   Preview
  11. Burial Mound   Preview
  12. Medicine Show   Preview
  13. Manatoc Enters the City / The Long Fall   Preview
  14. Death Watch   Preview
  15. Fanfare of the Impalers   Preview
  16. Prayers to a Blind Sky   Preview

Cat#: HSR091

Bookmark and Share

Customers who bought this work also purchased...